You sell goods to individuals residing in various countries of the European Union 

SHOULD YOU BE REGISTERED FOR VAT?IN WHICH COUNTRY(IES) ?
SHOULD YOU CHARGE VAT to your customers? which vat do you need to charge ?

When your company sells goods to individuals, you must register for VAT in a EU member State in two cases:

1 – When they import any goods from a non EU country or buy them in a EU member State, stores in this country, then sells them to individuals in that country. This is e.g. the case of Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA).

Sales of goods must then be charged with the VAT of the country of delivery. VAT collected on sales must be reported and paid to the administration of that Member State, after deduction of the VAT paid on imports or purchases.

Example:

An Indian company imports into France Indian handicrafts, stores them at Amazon, then sells them to individuals residing in France.

This company must :

  • apply for an EORI number to proceed to imports into the European Union,
  • register for VAT in France,
  • appoint a French tax representative,
  • charge its sales with French VAT.

2 – When the goods are shipped from one EU member State to individuals in another EU member State ( « distance sales »), some annual thresholds are applicable according to the different countries.

Annual distance sales thresholds are applicable by country of destination.  These thresholds vary between Member States . Learn more

Exceeding the thresholds affects two successive calendar years. As long as the annual turnover of sales to individuals by country of destination is not exceeded both for the current calendar year and the previous year, it is the VAT of the country of departure that should be charged. Once the annual sales turnover is exceeded for a EU member State of destination, it is the VAT in the destination country which is to be charged from the sale, and affecting the following calendar year.

Finally, it is possible to take the option of the VAT registration in the destination country when the threshold for distance sales is not exceeded, e.g. to benefit from a tax rate lower than that applicable in Member State of departure.

Example 1:

A Romanian company manufactures wooden toys and sells them to individuals residing in the EU.

In 2016, it sells for € 50,000 toys to individuals residing in France. The distance sales threshold in France is of € 35,000 from 1 January 2016, it must charge the Romanian VAT on its sales up to € 35,000, and the French VAT on sales bringing turnover above € 35,000. The Romanian company must register for VAT in France as soon as the € 35,000 threshold is reached, to declare and pay VAT to the French administration.

In 2017, the amount of its sales in France decreased and is no more than € 30,000.  Considering that the threshold for distance sales has been exceeded during the preceding year, it must continue to charge French VAT.

In 2018, the amount of its sales in France is still € 30,000. Considering that the threshold for distance selling has not been exceeded during the previous year, the company must charge Romanian VAT (returns of unsold goods to Romania do not trigger by itself any VAT registration liability in France).

Example 2:

The Indian company taken as an example in the case of registration 1, which imports and stores in France Indian handicrafts, decided to develop its sales in Europe and sell products from France to customers in other EU member States (Spain…) and in Switzerland.

In 2016, it has sales of:

  • € 50,000 in Spain: The distance sales threshold in Spain being € 35,000, it must charge French VAT on its sales up to € 35,000 and the Spanish VAT on sales in excess of € 35,000. The Indian company must register for VAT in Spain from the time the € 35,000 threshold is reached, to declare and pay VAT to the Spanish administration.
  • € 10,000 in Switzerland: as Switzerland is not part of the European Union, sales are considered VAT exempt exports of goods from France. However, the Swiss individuals will pay the Swiss VAT due on importations in this country.

Warning: sales of excisable goods (wine, spirits) are not concerned by the distance sales thresholds. A company that sells liquor from a EU member State to individuals in other Member State must charge all sales with VAT of the country of destination and therefore need to register for VAT in that member State as from the first supply of excise products.

 

WHAT CAN WE DO FOR YOU ?


ASSESS THE VAT OBLIGATIONS resulting from the transactions you make in France.

APPLY FOR AN EORI NUMBER in case of imports from a non EU country (*).

Learn more

 

APPLY FOR A VAT REGISTRATION NUMBER in France and possibly in other EU member States depending on the case (*).

Learn more

 

PROVIDE TEMPLATES with a view to gathering the relevant information for the purpose of periodical VAT returns.

REVIEW the purchase and sales INVOICES in support of operations;

CONSISTENCY CHECKS between the purchases and sales amounts;

COMMUNICATE THE identified ERRORS and advise on how to handle possible issues;

LIAISE with suppliers and freight forwarders to track corrective actions; 

PREPARE  THE VAT RETURNS

Learn more

FOLLOW ANY PAYMENT of VAT due or receivable by you.

Act as a TAX REPRESENTATIVE on behalf of companies established outside the European Union that has not signed with France an administrative assistance agreement, and as a TAX AGENT for businesses established a EU member State.

Learn more

PREPARE  AND SUBMIT VAT REFUND CLAIMS on expenses of goods and services used for the business purpose

Learn more

 

Assistance in drafting REPLIES TO REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION FROM THE TAX AUTHORITIES, we are present during tax audits, we ensure liaison with attorneys on the occasion of tax litigations ….

ANNUAL MEETING on the follow- up of the file.

REGULATORY MONITORING and analysis of the consequences on your reporting requirements.

ADVICE or administrative service (issuing invoices, applicable VAT, VAT rates, etc.)


(*) In case of VAT registration in several countries of the European Union, our European correspondents from the Tax Representative Alliance TRA can help you by offering:

  • assistance with VAT registration and VAT compliance,
  • one single contact, the Client Relationship Manager, who will coordinate the VAT registration and compliance with our correspondents in the different countries,
  • online access to TRA extranet that allows you to upload and download documentation and data.

 Learn more

Do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance or question!

Contact us

VOUS VENDEZ DES BIENS A DES PARTICULIERS DANS DIFFERENTS PAYS DE L’ Union europeenne

DEVEZ VOUS ETRE IMMATRICULE A LA TVA?DANS QUEL(s) pays ?
DEVEZ VOUS FACTURER LA tva A VOS CLIENTS ? QUELLE tva DEVEZ VOUS FACTURER ?

Lorsque votre entreprise vend des biens aux particuliers elle doit être immatriculée à la TVA dans l’Union Européenne dans deux cas :

1 – Lorsqu’elle importe des biens en provenance d’un pays tiers ou les achète dans un pays de l’Union Européenne, les stocke dans ce pays, puis les vend à des particuliers de ce pays. C’est notamment le cas des Fulfillment by Amazon (FBA). Les ventes de biens doivent alors être facturées avec la TVA du pays de livraison. La TVA collectée sur les ventes doit être déclarée et reversée à l’administration de cet Etat membre, après déduction de la TVA payée sur les importations ou les achats.

Exemple :
Une entreprise indienne importe en France de l’artisanat indien, le stocke chez Amazon, puis le vend à des particuliers résidant en France.
Elle doit :

  • Demander un numéro EORI pour effectuer des importations dans l’Union européenne,
  • Être immatriculée à la TVA en France,
  • Désigner un représentant fiscal français,
  • Facturer ses ventes avec TVA française.

2 – Lorsque les biens sont expédiés d’un pays de l’Union Européenne à des particuliers situés dans d’autres pays de l’Union Européenne (« ventes à distance ») des seuils annuels de ventes à distance sont applicables par pays de destination (des biens). En Savoir Plus

Ces seuils diffèrent selon les Etats membres et le dépassement des seuils a une incidence sur deux années civiles successives. Tant que le chiffre d’affaires annuel des ventes aux particuliers par pays de destination n’est pas dépassé tant pour l’année civile en cours que pour l’année précédente, c’est la TVA du pays de départ des marchandises qui doit être facturée. Dès que le montant annuel des ventes est dépassé pour un pays de destination, c’est la TVA du pays de destination qui doit être facturée à compter de la vente induisant le dépassement et pour l’année civile suivante.
Enfin, il est possible d’opter pour l’assujettissement des livraisons à la TVA du pays de destination lorsque le seuil des ventes à distance n’est pas dépassé, par exemple pour bénéficier d’un taux de TVA inférieur à celui applicable dans l’Etat membre de départ.

Exemple 1 :

Une entreprise roumaine fabrique des jouets en bois et les vend à des particuliers résidant dans l’Union européenne.
Au cours de l’année 2016, elle vend pour 50 000 € de jouets à des particuliers résidant en France. Le seuil des ventes à distance en France étant de 35 000 € depuis le 1er janvier 2016, elle doit facturer la TVA roumaine sur ses ventes jusqu’à 35 000 €, puis la TVA française sur les ventes amenant le chiffre d’affaires au-delà de 35 000 €. L’entreprise roumaine doit donc s’immatriculer à la TVA en France dès que le seuil de 35 000 € est franchi, afin de déclarer et verser la TVA à l’administration française.
En 2017, le montant de ses ventes en France diminue et n’est plus que de 30 000 €. Dans la mesure où le seuil des ventes à distance a été dépassé au cours de l’année précédente, elle doit continuer à facturer la TVA française.
En 2018 le montant de ses ventes en France est toujours de 30 000 €. Dans la mesure où le seuil des ventes à distance n’a pas été dépassé au cours de l’année précédente, l’entreprise doit facturer la TVA roumaine (les retours en Roumanie de marchandises invendues ne nécessitent pas à eux seuls une immatriculation à la TVA en France).

Exemple 2 :

L’entreprise indienne prise à titre d’exemple dans le cas d’immatriculation n° 1, qui importe et stocke en France de l’artisanat indien, décide de développer ses ventes en Europe et de vendre ses produits depuis la France à des clients situés dans d’autres pays de l’Union Européenne (Espagne…) et en Suisse.
Au cours de l’année 2016 elle vend :

  • Pour 50 000 € en Espagne. Le seuil des ventes à distance en Espagne étant de 35 000 €, elle doit facturer la TVA française sur ses ventes jusqu’à 35 000 €, puis la TVA espagnole sur les ventes au-delà de 35 000 €. L’entreprise indienne doit donc s’immatriculer à la TVA en Espagne dès que le seuil de 35 000 € est franchi, afin de déclarer et verser la TVA à l’administration espagnole.
  • Pour 10 000 € en Suisse : la Suisse ne faisant pas partie de l’Union Européenne, les ventes donnent lieu à des exportations de biens expédiés depuis la France en exonération de TVA. Par contre les particuliers suisses devront payer la TVA suisse d’importation).

Attention : les ventes de biens soumis à accises (vins, spiritueux) sont exclus du seuil des ventes à distance. Une entreprise qui vend des alcools depuis un pays de l’Union Européenne à des particuliers situés dans d’autres pays de l’Union Européenne doit facturer toutes ses ventes avec la TVA du pays de destination et par conséquent se faire immatriculer à la TVA dans cet Etat membre dès la première livraison de produits d’accises.

 

QUE POUVONS-NOUS FAIRE POUR VOUS ?


EVALUER VOS OBLIGATIONS en matière de TVA résultant des opérations que vous réalisez en France.

EXAMINER LES FACTURES de vente et factures d’achat à l’appui des opérations.

DEMANDER UN NUMERO EORI en cas d’importations en provenance d’un pays tiers.

En savoir plus

 

DEMANDER UN NUMERO DE TVA en France, ou éventuellement dans d’autres Etats membres de l’Union Européenne  selon le cas (*).

En savoir plus

 

FOURNIR UN MODELE de questionnaire pour la collecte des informations pertinentes aux fins des déclarations de TVA périodiques.

CONTRÔLER  la cohérence entre les achats et les ventes.

COMMUNIQUER LES ERREURS identifiées, et conseiller sur la façon de remédier aux problèmes potentiels.

ASSURER LA LIAISON avec les fournisseurs et les transitaires pour suivre les actions de correction.

ÉTABLIR LES DECLARATIONS DE TVA

En savoir plus

 

SUIVRE TOUT PAIEMENT de la TVA due ou à recevoir par vous.

PRÉPARER ET DÉPOSER LES DEMANDES DE REMBOURSEMENT DE TVA sur les dépenses professionnelles de biens et services.

En savoir plus

 

Agir comme REPRESENTANT FISCAL pour le compte des sociétés établies dans un pays hors de l’Union européenne n’ayant pas conclu avec la France de convention d’assistance administrative, ou comme simple MANDATAIRE fiscal pour le compte des sociétés établies dans l’Union Européenne.

En savoir plus

 

Aide à la rédaction des REPONSES AUX DEMANDES D’INFORMATIONS DES AUTORITES FISCALES, présence lors des contrôles fiscaux, liaison avec les avocats à l’occasion de litiges fiscaux, etc.

RÉUNION ANNUELLE sur le suivi du dossier.

VEILLE RÉGLEMENTAIRE et examen des incidences sur vos obligations déclaratives.

CONSEIL ou service administratif (rédaction des factures, taux de TVA applicable, etc).


(*) En cas d’immatriculation à la TVA dans plusieurs pays de l’Union Européenne, nos partenaires européens de Tax Representatives Alliance (TRA) peuvent vous accompagner en vous offrant:

  • Une assistance à l’enregistrement à la TVA et aux formalités déclaratives et de paiement de la TVA.
  • Un seul contact, le gestionnaire de la relation client, qui coordonnera les formalités avec nos correspondants dans les différents pays.
  • Un accès en ligne à l’extranet de TRA vous permettant de déposer et télécharger des documents et des données.

 En Savoir Plus

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour toute assistance ou toute question !

Contactez-nous